How to Make Your Bio More Memorable

CRAFTING A MORE PERSONAL BIO HIGHLIGHTS YOUR MOTIVATION FOR WANTING TO BE INVOLVED IN THAT PARTICULAR PROJECT. IT MAKES YOU MEMORABLE EVEN BEFORE THE INTERVIEW HAS STARTED.

When you hold a leadership role, you must be genuinely interested in people to perform really well. Leadership, as most business coaches claim, has to be an intrinsic ability to learn about people’s behaviours, environment, and reactions in a free or controlled environment where rules should be met. It’s a rigorous affair, I dare say.

I’ve tried it on and I like it very much, not for the position I held that often times came with a lot of responsibilities, but because it allowed me an insight into different perspectives. I like  learning about differences in perspectives because it humbles me as a person and it educates me about the different motivations people have.

IN MY WORLD, ACTIONS ARE ALWAYS THE DIRECT RESULT OF MOTIVATION:

I do this because I like it or
I do this because I want to earn this or
I do this because I need it for my physical or psychological survival.

ACTIONS ARE OUR COPING MECHANISM TO OUR INNER MOST DESIRES.

It may be done directly or indirectly but when we sum it all up, our actions vibrate what we want in our lives.

When I started writing BIOs for website owners or executives looking to polish their old resumes, I get excited because I get to tell the real story. And I like adding something that has happened unexpectedly or something they love doing that shows a snippet about who they truly are. Don’t you just hate stiff bios that almost feels like it came from the obituary?

My favourite bio writing experience would have to be for one of my mentors in business. He teaches MBA and Engineering courses in one of the country’s most prestigious university. He’s known for wearing cargo shorts on campus, making it is his own personal brand.

I integrated this into his bio to show his fun personality besides his countless career achievements. That experience also inspired me to write a HubPages article, Getting Ready to Eat an Elephant.

Here’s an excerpt:

Ernie has always been one who stands out from the crowd because of his unique ideas that touch or challenges his audience when teaching MBA in his trademark shorts. His interest in human interaction has inspired him to study Anthropology after taking his major in Mechanical Engineering from the University of San Carlos.

You can read his full bio on his website here.

YOUR BIO INTRODUCES THE READER TO ACHIEVEMENTS AND PERSONAS THAT THEY KNOW NOTHING ABOUT UNLESS THEY DIG DEEPER.

How many of your friends own prestigious job titles that you know about? Have you learned about their more recent promotion and why they were given that award?

Most times you see a Facebook post about accomplishments but never about the reason behind it. You’ll credit it to hard work but never consider the strategy employed to win that account.

Having to write someone’s bio is a meaningful experience for me and an opportunity to show someone’s journey while chasing after their dreams.

Today, businesses lean towards more personal experiences because it engages their customer on a human level. Gone are the days of brands with corporate feelers: the girl next door is the new IT girl.

Crafting a more personal bio highlights your motivation for wanting to be involved in that particular project. Most important of all, it makes you memorable among the millions of applicants rooting for that coveted spot.

Leave a Reply

